Applications being accepted for bauma Innovation Award

Starting April 7, applications can be submitted for the bauma Innovation Award which will be presented during bauma 2016.

Messe Munchen International

The bauma Innovation Award will be presented for the eleventh time at the upcoming bauma 2016. The award is a joint initiative carried out under the auspices of the German Engineering Federation (VMDA), the German Construction Industry Association (HDB), the Central Association of the German Construction Industry (ZDB), the German Building Materials Association (BBS) and bauma. The 31st edition of the World’s Leading Trade Fair for Construction Machinery, Building Material Machines, Mining Machines, Construction Vehicles and Construction Equipment takes place from April 11 to 17, 2016 at the Messe München exhibition center.

Entries invited from April onwards

Entries for the bauma Innovation Award can be submitted between April 7 and August 31, 2015. Those eligible to enter are the exhibitors at bauma, research institutes and research companies, and members of the leading associations in the German construction industry. Application documents can be found online. As last time, in 2016 the awards are again being presented in the following five categories:

  • Machinery
  • Components
  • Construction process/Construction work
  • Research
  • Design

Innovations for the future

The awards are presented for promising developments that are future-capable, cost-efficient and offer a high practical benefit that contribute towards energy and resource-efficiency and/or humanization of the workplace. In all categories, the innovations submitted must be relevant to the construction equipment, building material and mining equipment industry or to the construction industry and the building material industry. An international jury of representatives from research, industry and the trade press nominate three innovations in each category. These are then announced at the bauma Media Dialog in Munich on January 19 and 20, 2016. The presentation of the awards to the winners takes place on April 10, 2016, as part of the opening ceremony to bauma in Munich.