Dana Spicer axles featured on three Tractor of the Year winners

Dana's Spicer steer axles are integrated on three of the tractors which received Tractor of the Year 2016 awards at Agritechnica.

Adiam 5 10948696

At Agritechnica 2015, Dana Holding Corporation announced that the company's Spicer steer axles are fitted on three of four "Tractor of the Year 2016" award recipients. The winners were selected by an independent panel of 23 agricultural industry journalists. 

The award-winning tractors with Spicer axles include:

  • The Fendt 1050 Vario, which earned top honors in the principal "Tractor of the Year" division. It features the new Spicer Model 990 suspended steer axle;
  • The Massey Ferguson 5713Sl, the inaugural winner in the "Best Utility Tractor" competition, equipped with a new Spicer modular steer axle; and
  • The Valtra N174 V, which placed first in the "Golden Tractor for the Design" category. It also features a new Spicer modular steer axle.

"At Dana, we nurture a culture designed to produce driveline innovations that deliver maximum performance, fuel efficiency, maneuverability and operator comfort," says Aziz Aghili, President of Dana Off-Highway Driveline Technologies. "We are delighted to be closely associated with the winners of these prestigious awards and offer our congratulations."

Developed in partnership with Fendt, the Spicer Model 990 steer axle used on 1000 Series Fendt tractors features an independent front suspension to offer isolation from body vibration. This configuration provides improved vehicle control, operator comfort, traction and handling characteristics for safer operation, especially at on-road speeds.

Spicer modular steer axles for agricultural tractors offer a unique global platform that allows engineers to reduce the time from design to production while still supporting a wide range of customization options.

Dana offers a broad selection of Spicer modular agricultural axles for tractors with engines from 33 to 301 kW (45 to 410 hp) and continuous output torques from 2,000 to 40,000 Nm.

First presented in 1998, the Tractor of the Year honor is an international distinction awarded on an annual basis by a select jury of European editors from independent technical magazines specializing in agricultural machinery.  Members of the jury evaluate entries under field conditions to determine winners in four separate categories.

Dana showcased the company's full breadth of driveline solutions for the agricultural industry at Agritechnica in hall 17, stand C22.