NREL Announces Participants in National Executive Education Program

NREL has chosen 20 people from around the country to participate as leaders in the laboratory's 2013 Executive Energy Leadership Program designed to find clean energy solutions.

The Energy Department's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) has selected 20 leaders to participate in its 2013 Executive Energy Leadership program (Energy Execs), which is focused on delivering clean energy solutions.

The five-month program gives executive decision-makers from throughout the United States an in-depth look at renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies. Briefings by NREL technology experts, research laboratory tours and visits to field applications are part of the experience.

"Leadership in technology, industry and policy is necessary to transform our current energy system to one that is more sustainable. We are pleased to welcome and inform our business, community and government leaders so they can understand the implications of their energy decisions and demonstrate leadership for the long-term clean energy economy," NREL Director Dan Arvizu says.

At the conclusion of the program, participants present a viable project on a clean energy application. Since its inception, almost 200 representatives of industry, government and non-profit organizations have completed the Energy Execs program, delivered through the Executive Energy Leadership Academy.

A complete list of 2013's Energy Execs participants follows:
Edward Adkins – Sherman & Howard, LLC
Korin Crawford – Ekology Infrastructure
Kelly de la Torre – de la Torre Law, LLC
Thom Johnson – Eaton Energy Solutions, Inc.
Lee Ledesma – City of Aspen
Jennifer Miller – Sierra Club
Rick Moats – Adolfson & Peterson
Paul Morgan – Colorado Geological Survey
Randy Muller – Bank of America
Lizette Peña – CliftonLarsonAllen, LLP
George Pond – Denver Zoo
Brandon Rattiner – Office of U.S. Senator Mark Udall
Charles Rienhardt – U.S. General Services Administration
Meghan Riesterer – Medical Center Company
David Roberts – U.S. National Park Service
Chris Shapard – Colorado Cleantech Industry Association
Paul Sweat – National Instruments
Sara Telano – State of Arkansas Energy Office
Wendy Towber – City and County of Denver Office of Economic Development
Rod Vanderwall – State of Colorado Office of the State Architect